Bullied

My expression hardened

I took it seriously

But they mocked it

Pointing to my red cheeks

Burning so hot

The entire room became an oven

And in my eyes

They burned

And their flesh melted from them

Like something from Indiana Jones and the Lost Ark

Author: Jack Bennett

Born and raised in Torquay, England. 21 years old. Teeming with thoughts that need an outlet, working a full time job at his local supermarket. Unfortunately born a poet, he will most likely suffer from this contradiction most of his life.

14 thoughts on “Bullied”

  1. I’m so glad to be able to read you! I read several of your poems. As a retired teacher and a mom of a teen and preteen and a young girl I thank you for sharing your voice! Something was shaken in me because I cried… Keep sharing, your voice might be the cry others might heard when a kid is too afraid to scream! God bless you Jack!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow, I’m so glad it stirred something inside you, Roxana. I think it’s always worrying when you have children of your own and you hope they aren’t being bullied. Kids shouldn’t be afraid to react. Thank you for your inspiring comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

