Whispering Birds

“Couldn’t you wait for it?”

The bird squawks from the chimney top

“Couldn’t you just hear her out?”

I tried to block out the voice

Holding my hands against my ears

Staring down at her

She’s moving slightly

“She was just about to explain, why didn’t you just wait, why are you always like this?”

 

I shot the bird

I shot it until it was nothing

But a feathery mess

I smashed its eggs

Mixing their liquids

Into the birds body

With my boots

 

“Couldn’t you just wait for it?”

I hear from a murder of flying crows

“She was just about to explain”

 

She’s still moving slightly

I close the door

And try to forget about it

 

Author: Jack Bennett

Born and raised in Torquay, England. 21 years old. Teeming with thoughts that need an outlet, working a full time job at his local supermarket. Unfortunately born a poet, he will most likely suffer from this contradiction most of his life.

Leave a Reply

