Dust

When I look at the specks of dust

Surrounding my room

I’m reminded of a time

When I was a part of it

They were a part of me

We used to be so close

But they flaked off and left me

To leave for their ancestral burial grounds

Where they lay in undisturbed peace

 

Till the cloth wipes them away

Clumped together on an alien spaceship

Thrown away, into nameless graves

Others take leave and float far away

To an outer world

To find rest elsewhere

A tree

A branch

The sea

Sand

Soil

The neverending wind

Far away from me

My heart aches

I let the dust settle in my room in peace

 

 

Author: Jack Bennett

Born and raised in Torquay, England. 22 years old. Teeming with thoughts that need an outlet, working a full time job at his local supermarket. Unfortunately born a poet, he will most likely suffer from this contradiction most of his life.

One thought on “Dust”

Leave a Reply

