Peace of mind – Part 1

IMG_0667.JPG

I sit here in a room

Well I think it’s a room

I’ve walked from side to side

From what I could feel:

Four walls

Four corners

 

It’s so dark in here

The only way I can see

Is during the day

When they open the window

Letting the sun shine through

When they shut it

I can’t tell whether my eyes are open or not

Am I sleeping or am I awake?

Standing or sitting?

 

The window is shut

I reach inside of myself

I search the lights of my soul

They’re dim

But brighter as I move closer

They line up along rails

On a pier

leading to the centre of the sea

I follow them

 

Reaching the end of the pier

I look down

There’s a long drop below

Into a whirpool

A vortex of black and white

 

I see others jumping from their piers

Sucked into the waters below

They seem to know what they’re doing

I jump

 

And follow

 

 

Author: Jack Bennett

Born and raised in Torquay, England. 21 years old. Teeming with thoughts that need an outlet, working a full time job at his local supermarket. Unfortunately born a poet, he will most likely suffer from this contradiction most of his life.

2 thoughts on “Peace of mind – Part 1”

Leave a Reply

