Gateways to another world

The ins and outs of a voice ringing in my head

Barely recognisable, but there

She grounds me

I’m tied to her

By an invisible cord

Lassoed by affection

It’s sudden light illuminates me with self reflection

I can feel her watch me lovingly

I look down with shame

At my broken skin, eyes leaking black

A single solo breaks out in my mind

I am lifted by a cloud to the skies

Ever upwards, ascending

Into her eyes

As I enter their gateways

A world of utter tranquility lays before me

Vast forests as far as I can see

Tall pine trees huddle around me

Calm, flowing rivers

Rocks covered with moss

As time goes on

The forest hosts a party of stars

To welcome me

Starlights appear

We eat and drink together

Telling tales of happiness

Discussing the beauty of this world

I close my eyes

Everything is here

reopening them

I find her looking at me still

Her eyes wide open

Everything is here

 

 

Author: Jack Bennett

Born in Torbay, living in Bristol.

One thought on “Gateways to another world”

Leave a comment