Time

IMG_0414

Moving forward

One foot in front of the other

slowly decaying, my feet rot

My cells, they leave me

one by one

Yet I still walk

I watch them go

They mingle with the dust

They ascend to the stars

They set up homes in the sea

They ride on fishes

They fly with the birds

I’m crawling on my knees

There’s not much left

Of what I call me

It’s all up and left

My body

sinks into the ground like sand

Given and taken back

 

 

Author: Jack Bennett

Born and raised in Torquay, England. 21 years old. Teeming with thoughts that need an outlet, working a full time job at his local supermarket. Unfortunately born a poet, he will most likely suffer from this contradiction most of his life.

Leave a Reply

